1st Follow-up Comittee IDEALiC



A follow-up committee has been established, it is composed of three thirds:
(a) members coming from public authorities involved in e-inclusion;
(b) members coming from associations in the field of e-inclusion;
and (c) members coming from university research centres concerned by the topics of the project.
Moreover, the composition will be balanced among Flemish and French-speaking members, as well as gender-balanced.
The following tasks will be devoted to the follow-up committee:
  • To comment and assess the research progress at the end of each of the 5 work packages;
  • To be an interface between the research team and the actors of e-inclusion policies, at the level of federal and federated entities as well as in associations of the non-profit sector;
  • To make the research team aware of institutional developments or new initiatives comingfrom field actors;
  • To give orientations towards publications, presentations or meetings that should allow for a better dissemination of findings and recommendations;
  • To validate the final policy recommendations.
The follow-up committee will meet five times during the project: 
A first meeting, coupled with a scientific workshop on “Setting the new scene of digital inclusion” at the end of WP1. Three meetings on intermediate results: (1) results from the qualitative analysis of individual users interviews (WP2), (2) results from the qualitative analysis of case studies of (public) services providers (WP3), (3) results from the participatory action-research with e-inclusion actors (WP4). The last meeting will be held at the moment of drafting conclusions and recommendations (WP5).
Here is a preliminary list of members of the follow-up committee. This list of members will be expanded throughout the project. 
Members coming from public authorities
  • Anne Fierens, Marieke Zwartjes - Belspo, the Belgian Science Policy Office and funding agency for the Brain-be call (Belgian Research Action through Interdisciplinary Networks)
  • Helena Bex - Celverantwoordelijke Maatschappelijke Integratie kabinet Borsus
  • Simon Smessaert or Rafaël Huybrechts - Flemish Department of Culture, Youth, Sport and Media 
  • Séverine Waterbley - FOD/SPF Economy, Directorate General Telecommunications and Information Society
  • Nathalie Hardat - AWT (Walloon Agency for ICT)
  • Karim Benseghir, Pierre Strumelle - FOD Economie, Division Télécommunications et Société de l'Information
  • Beverly Bernard - POD Maatschappelijke Integratie
  • Laurent Hublet - Adviseur Digitale Agenda, Kabinet De Croo
  • Julien Vangeertsom - POD Maatschappelijke Integratie
  • Pol Gertis - FOD Volksgezondheid
  • Philippe Vermeulen - FOD Personeel en Organisatie
  • Anne-Lise Depasse, Ine Polling, Véronique Lagrange - FOD Mobiliteit
  • Luc Lathouwers - Transitiemanager Radicaal Digitaal, Agentschap Informatie Vlaanderen
  • Kris Lentackers - Beleidsteam Digitale Geografische Informatie, Administratie Homans
Members coming from existing networks of associations working on e-inclusion (in Flanders, Brussels and Wallonia):
  • Laure Van Hoecke - Coordinator LINC vzw  
  • Elke Boudry, Hadewijch Vanwynsberghe - Mediawijs.be, the Flemish Knowledge Center for Media Literacy 
  • Stefaan Platteau - CABAN (Network of e-inclusion actors in Brussels) 
  • Eric Blanchard - TechnofuturTIC, network coordinator, Network of Walloon EPN (Public digitalspaces) 
  • Laure Lemaire - Director of Interface 3 Brussels and Belgian representative of Telecentre-Europe
Members coming from academic institutions: 
  • Pieter Verdegem - MICT Ugent 
  • Erik Goubin - Thomas More Mechelen 
  • François Georges - LabSET, University of Liège 
  • Thierry De Smedt - UCL, Department of communication sciences